Hot to disconnect to connect

connect to disconnect

Hey ladies

Today i have a bit of a more complex post for you, something to think about, something that might change the way you see your life. It’s nothing new that social media and tech has officially taken over our lives. Although i fairly believe in taking nice pictures and sharing your highlights of your life, there is nothing wrong with it, but there is a fine line where one could be consumed by constantly checking up on the validation of others and how others will judge your highlights and nice pictures. There are a few things to have in mind and some steps to follow which i think will make your life more present rather than spaced out and tech consumed.

Start your day right

We all open our eyes in the morning and the first thing we reach is our phone. We quickly scan with half-opened eyes through our IG, Facebook the news etc. Our day will then proceed with keeping to check our phone. At least in the morning try to take a moment to just breath, smile and appreciate that beautiful day ahead of you. If you have family, greet them with a good morning and have an actual talk with them rather than posting on twitter how tired you are.

Take 5

We all need our phones to communicate, check our emails etc. but sometime during the day try to have an hour where your phone is shut off and do whatever you like to. Read a book, take a walk, call a friend, Yes; have an actual conversation with your bestie rather than over whatsapp. It will feel so liberating to have one hour to just live without that constant pressure to check your phone.

Start a hobby outside the tech world

Choose something that does not involve technical stuff like computer, phone etc. Take that art class you always wanted, start printing your pictures and making real life memories rather than having it all on your virtual space. Do some cooking and learn a new recipe. There are a thousand things that you could do OUTSIDE your phone world.

Meet and greet

Since messaging, whatsapp and facetime came into our world we hardly actually see our friends or hang out with them. It’s so much easier to just have a chat over whatsapp. Pick a date once a month to meet up and do stuff. Go for lunch, do some shopping or go for a run together. Your friendship will have so much more meaning.

No posting allowed

Start to slowly keep your memories in your head and heart rather than to be busy posting it for everyone else. If you go on a family outing, trip, or date night try to be present and just take in the moments. Forget about posting, forget about tweeting, forget about it all. These moments will last far longer and leave a much bigger imprint on your heart than a social media sharing.  Nobody has to have those memories, but you!

Say good night

Before we go to sleep, thoughts like this get into our head “let me just quickly check…(IG,FB,Blog what everyone was up to) and before you know it half of the night is gone. Try to have a routine and shut off your phone completely at a certain hour, so that you have time to read a book or write a diary and go to sleep with purpose. Your mind and body will thank you after a good night of sleep without any distractions.

These are my feelings and tips which i too will try to take upon myself more and more so that my world does not go to waste with spending all that time trying to connect with the virtual world. What is your way to stay grounded? Do you also feel technically suffocated sometimes? Share your thoughts with me, i would love to hear them.

Meanwhile for more beauty, fashion and lifestyle inspiration catch me on: Facebook / Instagram / Pinterest / Bloglovin / Twitter

xoxo,

Toby

9 thoughts on “Hot to disconnect to connect

  1. classicandgray says:

    I LOVED this post Toby and it’s something I struggle with frequently! I want to live and experience life, not watch it through my phone. It’s so hard to have blogging as a hobby and keep on top of it with all of the forms of social media. Before you know it, like you said, a whole day is gone! I’m trying to better balance everything and cutting back is the next step. Great tips and a very good read! xo Michele

  2. Kait Elizabeth says:

    Love this so much!!!!! It’s so hard to put down the phone, especially when trying to keep up with social media. I have definitely been making sure lately that people are the focus in my life, not the internet. Hugs, Kait

  3. Lauren @ Lauren, Etc. says:

    I love all these tips, Toby! I haven’t felt suffocated by social media so much as I feel like I allow myself to be distracted too much. Blogging has actually helped me to spend less time on social media. Once a blog post publishes and I post some links on FB and Twitter, I feel accomplished and ready for a socia media break. I end up not checking up on blog stats or IG comments because I love the confidence boost of seeing 20 new likes at once versus 1 or 2 the minute they come in. I’ve also been trying to schedule internet time, like 15 minutes in the AM after I get ready and before the babies wake up or 30 minutes during the beginning of their afternoon nap. I have banned myself from using my phone in the nursery for anything other than photos/videos (to be posted online later!) or Disney music for a dance party. And no phones in bed at night. As I type this, I am sitting on the couch instead of staring at my screen under the covers in the dark. Thanks again for this post, as it’s a good reminder for me to be vigilant about my social media usage!

    • Toby says:

      wow lauren you are so strong with this! Its great to see that people wont let themselves succumb to social media and they know its not the essence of life! thank you for those tips, i do try not to have my phone in my room over night so to not get tempted 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

