Fashion dilemmas Q&A

Capture

Hey Ladies

I have been a bit under the weather the past two days. Being sick while you are a mom is the worst thing ever. You feel like crap and your kid needs your attention but you simply do not have the strength to give it to him which then makes you upset. But thankfully i knew it is just temporary and i admired much more all of the amazing moms and ladies out there who are chronically ill.
This post was inspired by the lovely Jassy from lavender, life and everything nice. She was struggling with some fashion issues and so i suggested she send me over her questions and i will write a post and answer them. Hopefully some of you could relate and get insights and tips to help you out.

  1. How do you take a basic outfit say dress pants and blouse or jeans and shirt to the next level? Something that says Wow!

First of all i have written a post before about how to take your basic shirt to the next level. Check it out here.
I have one word to answer to this: Accessorize!
Any type of outfit gets an instant facelift by adding some accessories. Say belt, necklace, scarf, bag.
Do you have a basic shift dress? Add a gold-plated belt or a bow belt and voila!
Basic blouse? Add a chunky necklace
Jeans? Add High heels
Basics are super for layering. So use your white T under a colored blazer.
A white blouse could be layered under a dress. Check out more ideas for layering here

gfdg gfdh gfg

Here i have got a simple white frill blouse and an orange knit skirt. I wore it in three different ways. Once with a white cardigan, once with a simple trench coat and once with a colored blazer. Note how my chunky necklace gives it a bit of glam.

2. How do you maintain comfort and a sense of fashion?

Invest in some great mix and match pieces. A striped T-shirt is a must!
you could wear it with a skirt, under a blazer, with a print etc. Its comfy and in style.
A chambray shirt or jeans shirt could also be mixed up. Check out more here.
Skirts are comfortable too, opt for an easy pencil skirt and it will give you that oomph in your styling. Those are some pieces that are comfy yet by pairing them with something more fashionable it will give you that wanted sense of style.

Here is an example of a simple black T-shirt paired with three different printed skirts. Easy, comfy yet in fashion.

hfgdh

3.Why do I feel like I want to look one way for example, I like an edgy feel but I don’t tend to choose those clothes when shopping?

That’s because it is hard to get out of your comfort zone. We all struggle with self-confidence so choosing what we are used to, makes us feel safe. But trust me, once you try something new and love it you will feel so much more challenged and confident. Try starting with small steps. Buy yourself something you love but never wore before. This seasons trends are capes, a plaid scarf, midi skirt, leather jackets.
Choose whatever you like most and start with pairing it with what you have in your closet. Like this it will not be too much of a change.

I hope i answered to some of your dilemmas. I would love to hear your advice and input on it. Sorry for the bad picture quality, i snapped them before i knew about VSCOcam and all the other new picture improvements 🙂

Meanwhile, for more beauty, fashion and lifestyle inspiration catch me on: Facebook / Instagram / Pinterest / Bloglovin / Twitter

xoxo

Toby

17 thoughts on “Fashion dilemmas Q&A

  1. Karen Rees says:

    Fabulous tips and wow you look amazinggggg Toby… stunning outfits huni!! Hope you feel much better soon – it’s so darn tough being a mama and being ill 😦 Horrid!!! XXX

  2. jassy says:

    Thank you! You are so on the mark. I love the pops of color, especially the basic black t and the shirts. I may need to invest in some accessories. I have a great MK clutch in cobalt blue that I have yet to even use. It is really hard to get me out of my comfort zone. I hope I can try new things. Maybe I need to take someone shopping with me as I tend to shop alone and there is noone there to challenge me. Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions! PS. I hope you are feeling better.

    • Toby says:

      your very welcome jassy. i am sure that where you live there are some personal shoppers who will go shop with you. And huni wear that clutch! pair it with some same colored necklace xx

Leave a Reply

