Guest Post: 3 Beauty Brands you should be buying – by Freckle Me Silly

Hello my Ladies,

After a weekend of party, glitz and glam it is time to go back to basics. Simple cosmetics with no surprises as seen in the following guest post from Freckle Me Silly. You all must hop on over and check out her blog. I love her style and flair of design when it comes to her blog. There is something about simple products that you know from where it is coming from and what it is going to do, don’t get me wrong, i LOVE the beautiful, glam packaging of many mass cosmetic products that cost a ton but smell divine etc;) But sometimes its good to go back to the real thing; from mother nature!
_____________________________________________________________________

Hola Posh & Spicy friends! I’m Brianna from Freckle Me Silly. I’m a recent grad working for a nationwide newspaper publisher and in my free time, I’m a writer, exploratory baker, astronomy enthusiast, health/wellness nut and blossoming designer.

I’m so honored to be writing a guest post for one of my favorite blogs! Toby always creates such fresh, stylish posts that are ahead of the curve in providing fashion, life and beauty insight. (One of my favorites that you should definitely check out is “My 7 Beauty Sins.“)

Today, I decided to share three beauty brands that go above and beyond average. Walk into Sephora or Ulta and there are about 100,001 beauty brands for you to choose from. To make that choice a bit easier, here are three brands I use that go far beyond delivering an amazing product. They do so without testing cute little bunnies, keep their products as organic as possible and are actively working to improve lives.

Because if you’re going to invest in beauty products, why not invest in keeping the world beautiful too? Here are a few brands I’m hooked on and why they ascend above average beauty producers. (I’ve included the product I use in parenthesis.)

Mineral Fusion (mascara) at Whole Foods, Ulta, Target

I actually stopped using eyeliner because of this mascara. It goes on so much thicker and darker than any brand I’ve used before. Plus, the company creates a naturally beautiful product that you can trust and is actively helping improve women’s lives. Mineral Fusion:

  • Is partnered with the
    mineral fusion

    Photo: @wholefoodsnyc

    National Coalition Against Domestic Violence and donates sales and products to help women in need.

  • Focuses on using pure, natural minerals in all their products.
  • Is cruelty-free and makes vegetarian products (no bunnies tested & no animal fats/oils in your mascara).
  • Uses wind power and recycled materials/packaging (cheers, planet Earth!)

Alaffia (coconut face cream) at Whole Foods

My fresh, rejuvenated skin thanks you, Alaffia. And so does my sense of humanity. Alaffia empowers West African women by employing individuals who may not be formally educated, but have useful skills to offer. They’ve had an incredibly life-changing impact on these amazing women in West Africa and actively strive to better the environment and world we live in. Alaffia also:

  • Uses recyclable products and
    Alaffia

    Photo: @AlaffiaSkinCare

    sustainable small farms vs plantations.

  • Collects used bicycles and sends to disadvantaged students so they can get to school.
  • Donates supplies to schools in rural Togo to help communities educate their youth.
  • Combats effects of climate change & deforestation by planting trees.
  • Dedicates at lease 10% of sales to community empowerment projects in Africa.

Tom’s of Maine (deodorant) at Walgreens, Whole Foods, Target, Walmart

First off, the deodorant I use from Tom’s smells like a field of flowers and sunshine—if sunshine had a scent. Second, it doesn’t give me clogged pores (ick!). They make a lot more than deodorant, but I love Tom’s of Maine for several reasons. They’re passionate about being a positive impact in the world from volunteerism to renewable energy and the company:

  • Is cruelty-free and uses vegetarian
    Toms

    Photo: @TomsofMaine

    ingredients with no artificial additives.

  • Uses wind energy, recyclable materials and recycles even within the warehouse.
  • Donates 10% of yearly profits to nonprofits committed to human, health and environment.
  • Is partnered with recycling leader TerraCycle.

Do you use any beauty brands that make the world more beautiful? I’d love to hear them!

13 thoughts on “Guest Post: 3 Beauty Brands you should be buying – by Freckle Me Silly

  1. peeledwellness says:

    I recently fell in love with Toms after I noticed it in walmart- I was shocked they carried it! I love products you can feel good about. At first I was a little worried since they were natural they wouldn’t be as effective or would smell funny….but I was worried for nothing!
    I’d love for you to share a post at my Tuesday link party today, if you’re interested!

    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

  2. Courtney says:

    You should also check out Pink Papaya! Our products are never tested on animals, are made in America, and are loaded with botanical ingredients. Pink Papaya encourages consultants to give back in their communities and supports that mission by donating thousands of dollars worth of products to organizations chosen by Pink Papaya consultants across the country. I am proud to share Pink Papaya as a consultant. I’m even more proud to give it away to women who need a boost.

Leave a Reply

